Dear Teddy, 

I scrolled through all of the entries in the Winter issue of Stripes and I kid you not, my mouth fell open when I found yours– “American Students in the Midst of a Pandemic.” I always knew you were an overachiever (which is a very good thing, I have a lot of respect for you), but wow! You went above and beyond and I appreciate your dedication to sharing the facts. 

In your article, you discussed our workloads, grades, and mental health, which are all things that have been on my mind as of late. I have to say, I was not surprised when I saw that over 70% of students felt that their workloads increased and that nearly 50% of students had worse mental health than they had in March. As one of your friends and one of the people you interviewed, I already knew that I could trust your results. But after seeing that you also asked 70 other people and cited reliable websites, I was even more inclined to do so (even though you should never trust a guy who wears jeans to his own wedding. Haha inside joke). 

Your article is by far my favorite because you shed light on issues affecting our school– both students and teachers. Hey, maybe you’ll even help the students at MCVTS talk to our teachers and ask for a lighter workload. I just feel so much less alone after reading it. Thank you for putting so much time and effort into your piece! 

Sincerely,

Isabella Sanchez

Click on “Previous” to see the rest of the Spring 2021 issue!

LETTER TO THE EDITOR
Skip to toolbar