Artwork by: Dasan Kelton

A collection of poems inspired by The Alchemist by Paolo Coehlo

 

THE LEGEND OF THE BOY AND HIS SHEEP

by Jake Decker

He arose and, taking up his crook, began to awaken the sheep that still 

slept. Some mysterious energy bound his life to that of the sheep,

boy prodded them, one by one, with his crook,

calling each by name. He had always believed that the sheep were able to understand what he said.

had spoken to them about only one thing: the girl, the daughter of a merchant who lived in the village

The merchant was the proprietor of a dry goods shop, and he always demanded that the sheep be sheared in his presence,

Lots of shepherds passed through, selling their wool.

he said to his sheep. “I know other girls in other places.”

the shepherd urged his sheep in the direction of the sun.

***

THE WORLD’S GREATEST LIE

by Nicholas Meli

They desired me to be a priest

I couldn’t have found God in the seminary

And because I am not wise

I have had to discover the reading of palms

Learned to acknowledge omens and succeed in them

I don’t know how turning now them into reality…

I promised that I’d make my own decisions

It’s easy, and yet I’ve never done it before

Now it’s too late to change a bit

Our lives become controlled by fate

That’s the world’s greatest lie

***

MONSTER

by Annabelle Medina 

Food and water

I became a monster

Aware the boy had been haunted

He was sixteen and like sheep

He had been summoned

Maybe we’re all that way

The boy had already begun to quietly pray

Jesus, he reassures himself

His hands began to tremble

The boy laughed, he became a monster 

FOUND POEMS
Skip to toolbar