by Abigail Nelwin

There goes my guilty conscience
He disrupts my days and lengthens the night
This nagging narrator who spews nonsense

Is there a way to quiet his chatter?
Words that are used out of spite
There goes my guilty conscience

His rioting and protesting clatter
I cannot entertain this tired fight
This nagging narrator who spews nonsense

Even when I attempt to get to the heart of the matter
My mood is spoiled with a consuming blight
There goes my guilty conscience

The memories remain shrouded with tatter
He rewrote them with a hand of sleight
This nagging narrator who spews nonsense

He disrupts my thoughts and causes them to scatter
So convicting of my wrongs until nothing seems right
There goes my guilty conscience
This nagging narrator who spews nonsense

GUILTY CONSCIENCE
Skip to toolbar